Democrat on VP shortlist underscores Obama’s inexperience

Bill Ritter (D), the governor of Colorado and a shortlist candidate on Barack Obama’s VP list, was on the Mike Rosen Show on 850 KOA Newstalk Radio on August 4th.

There is no need for me to paraphrase it. Here is the relevant portion transcribed by Michelle Malkin on her blog.

Rosen: “Why don’t you think you’d be a good choice?”

Ritter: “Well, just because, I think there are a lot of things that he has to take into consideration. I’ve been governor for 18 months. My experience before that was as a district attorney. I loved being a district attorney…but I don’t think that’s what Barack Obama’s looking for in a vice president. I’ve been governor for 18 months. It’s been a great experience. But it’s just 18 months…Obama has to think about experience…levels of experience…”

[Ritter then discusses other VP possibilities…Tim Kaine, Evan Bayh…praises their experience, foreign policy creds…Joe Biden/chair of Senate Foreign Relations committee…”Any of those three would make sense to me”…Kathleen Sibelius is a great woman…]

And, then, during the time for callers to pose their questions to Gov. Ritter….

Caller Richard from Windsor: “Governor, you said 18 months’ experience wasn’t enough experience as governor to be the vice president. Would you want to contrast that with the 143 days’ experience Obama as senator before he decided he had enough experience to be president.”

Ritter: All I can tell ya is I am a fan of Barack Obama’s. Met him in 2004 during his campaign for Senate…You meet him and discover there’s something very different about him. That’s all I’ll say.

Do you think he tried to change the subject quick enough? LOL

You don’t believe Michelle or me? Go to the webpage for the Mike Rosen Show and click on the podcast for the second hour of his show on 8/4/08,beginning at 10:00am, and listen for youself.

I can’t make stuff this good up, if I tried!

After that, I suspect Ritter is off the shortlist and under the bus with other people no longer of use to Obama. What do you think?

Explore posts in the same categories: National Politics

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

